Graduate Faculty

NamePhotoResearch Area(s)EmailPhoneTitle / Position
John BakerJohn BakerBiometeorology, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Cropsjbaker@umn.edu612-625-4249Adjunct Professor, Research Leader, USDA-ARS
Karen Ballenphoto of Karen BallenSoil Environmental Microbiologyballe008@umn.edu612-625-8268Adjunct Assistant Professor
Jay Bellphoto of Jay BellPedology, Wetlands and Peatlandsjaybell@umn.edu612-625-6703Professor
Adam Birrabirr@umn.eduAdjunct Assistant Professor
Fabián Fernándezphoto of Fabian FernandezContaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops, Nutrient Managementfabiangf@umn.edu612-625-7460Assistant Professor
Gary Feyereisenphoto of Gary FeyereisenBiogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Cropsgfeyer@umn.edu612-625-0968Adjunct Assistant Professor, USDA-ARS
Timothy Griffisphoto of Timothy GriffisAtmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Biogeochemistry, Biometeorologytgriffis@umn.edu612-625-3117Professor
Julie M. GrossmanPhoto of Julie GrossmanOrganic Agriculture, Soil Nutrient Cycling, Legume Cover Crops, Rizobia Ecology, Biological Nitrogen Fixationjgross@umn.edu612-625-8597Assistant Professor, Horticultural Sciences
Satish Guptaphoto of Satish GuptaContaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Physicsgupta002@umn.edu612-625-1241Raymond Allmaras Professor of Emerging Issues in Soil and Water
Jessica GutknechtJessica Gutknechtjgut@umn.edu612-626-8435Assistant Professor
Satoshi IshiiPicture of Satoshi IshiiAquatic Microbiology, Biogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Environmental Microbiologyishi0040@umn.edu612-624-7902Assistant Professor
Nic JelinskiNic JelinskiPedologyjeli0026@umn.edu612-626-9936Assistant Professor
Jane M. Fischer Johnsonjohns165@umn.edu320-589-3411 ext. 131Adjunct Assistant Professor; Research Soil Scientist
Daniel KaiserPicture of Daniel KaiserCrops, Nutrient Managementdekaiser@umn.edu612-624-3482Associate Professor
Katherine KlinkPhoto of Katherine KlinkClimate, climate variability, wind climatology, wind power, climate-biosphere interaction, environmental scienceklink@umn.edu612-625-3452Associate Professor, Dept. of Geography
Joseph Knightphoto of Joseph KnightLand Use and Land Cover Change, Wetlands and Peatlandsjknight@umn.edu612-625-5354Assistant Professor
Randall Kolkaphoto of Randall KolkaNatural Ecosystemsrkolka@fs.fed.us218-326-7115Adjunct Assistant Professor
Julian MarshallPhoto of Julian MarshallAir pollution impacts on urban form, air pollution and health impacts of transportation and energy consumption, in situ measurement of fine particles in developing countriesjulian@umn.edu612-625-2397Assistant Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering
Katsumi MatsumotoPhoto of Katsumi MatsumotoOceanography, geochemistry, carbon cycle, climate changekatsumi@umn.edu612-624-0275Associate Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor, Dept. of Geology and Geophysics
Peter H. McMurryPhoto of Peter McMurryAtmospheric aersols, novel materials formed from deposited nanoparticles produced in thermal plasma reactorsmcmurry@me.umn.edu612-624-2817Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Dylan MilletPicture of Dylan MilletAtmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate and Climate Changedbm@umn.edu612-626-3259Professor, Co-director of Graduate Studies
David MullaPicture of David MullaContaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Ecosystem Modeling, Precision Agriculturemulla003@umn.edu612-625-6721Professor & Endowed Chair in Soil and Water Resources, Professor, Co-Director of Graduate Studies
Ed NaterEd NaterBiogeochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Pedologyenater@umn.edu612-625-9734Professor
Paulo Pagliariphoto of Paulo PagliariCrops, Nutrient Managementpagli005@umn.edu507-752-5065Assistant Professor
Jennifer S. PowersPhoto of Jennifer PowersTerrestrial biogeochemistry, Microbial ecologypowers@umn.edu612-625-5721Assistant Professor, Dept. of Ecology, Evolution and Behaviour
Pamela Ricephoto of Pamela RiceContaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Environmental Chemistrypamrice@umn.edu612-624-9210Adjunct Assistant Professor
Carl RosenPhoto of Carl RosenContaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops, Environmental Chemistrycrosen@umn.edu612-625-8114Professor, Department Head; Soil, Water, & Climate
Michael P. RusselleNutrient management, manure application options on alfalfaMichael.Russelle@ars.usda.gov612-625-8145

Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Soil, Water, & Climate

USDA/ARS Plant Science Research Unit

Michael SadowskyMichael SadowskyAquatic Microbiology, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Environmental Microbiologysadowsky@umn.edu612-624-2706Professor
Michael SchmittMichael Schmittmschmitt@umn.edu612-625-7098Professor, CFANS Senior Associate Dean for Extension
Mark SeeleyMark Seeleymseeley@umn.edu612-625-4724Professor
Albert Simsphoto of Albert SimsCrops, Nutrient Managementsimsx008@umn.edu218-281-8602Associate Professor
Peter Snyderphoto of Peter SnyderAtmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Climate and Climate Change, Ecosystem Modelingpksnyder@umn.edu612-625-8209Associate Professor
Kurt Spokasphoto of Kurt SpokasBiogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Physicskurt.spokas@ars.usda.gov612-626-2834Adjunct Assistant Professor
Jeff StrockJeff StrockNutrient Managementjstrock@umn.edu507-752-5064Professor
Brandy Tonerphoto of Brandy TonerBiogeochemistry, Environmental Chemistrytoner@umn.edu612-624-1362Associate Professor
Tracy TwinePicture of Tracy TwineAtmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Climate and Climate Change, Ecosystem Modelingtwine@umn.edu612-625-7278Associate Professor
Rodney Ventereaphoto of Rodney VentereaAtmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Biogeochemistry, Soil Physicsventerea@umn.edu612-624-7842Adjunct Assistant Professor, USDA-ARS
Ce Yangphoto of Ce Yangceyang@umn.edu612-626-6419Assistant Professor
Kyungsoo YooKyungsoo YooBiogeochemistry, Natural Ecosystems, Pedologykyoo@umn.edu612-624-7784Associate Professor