Graduate Faculty

Name Photo Research Area(s) Email Phone Title / Position
John Baker John Baker Biometeorology, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops jbaker@umn.edu 612-625-4249 Adjunct Professor, Research Leader, USDA-ARS
Karen Ballen photo of Karen Ballen Soil Environmental Microbiology balle008@umn.edu 612-625-8268 Adjunct Assistant Professor
Jay Bell photo of Jay Bell Pedology, Wetlands and Peatlands jaybell@umn.edu 612-625-6703 Professor
Adam Birr abirr@umn.edu Adjunct Assistant Professor
Fabián Fernández photo of Fabian Fernandez Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops, Nutrient Management fabiangf@umn.edu 612-625-7460 Assistant Professor
Gary Feyereisen photo of Gary Feyereisen Biogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops gfeyer@umn.edu 612-625-0968 Adjunct Assistant Professor, USDA-ARS
Timothy Griffis photo of Timothy Griffis Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Biogeochemistry, Biometeorology tgriffis@umn.edu 612-625-3117 Professor
Julie M. Grossman Photo of Julie Grossman Organic Agriculture, Soil Nutrient Cycling, Legume Cover Crops, Rizobia Ecology, Biological Nitrogen Fixation jgross@umn.edu 612-625-8597 Assistant Professor, Horticultural Sciences
Satish Gupta photo of Satish Gupta Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Physics gupta002@umn.edu 612-625-1241 Raymond Allmaras Professor of Emerging Issues in Soil and Water
Jessica Gutknecht Jessica Gutknecht jgut@umn.edu 612-626-8435 Assistant Professor
Satoshi Ishii Picture of Satoshi Ishii Aquatic Microbiology, Biogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Environmental Microbiology ishi0040@umn.edu 612-624-7902 Assistant Professor
Nic Jelinski Nic Jelinski Pedology jeli0026@umn.edu 612-626-9936 Assistant Professor
Jane M. Fischer Johnson johns165@umn.edu 320-589-3411 ext. 131 Adjunct Assistant Professor; Research Soil Scientist
Daniel Kaiser Picture of Daniel Kaiser Crops, Nutrient Management dekaiser@umn.edu 612-624-3482 Associate Professor
Katherine Klink Photo of Katherine Klink Climate, climate variability, wind climatology, wind power, climate-biosphere interaction, environmental science klink@umn.edu 612-625-3452 Associate Professor, Dept. of Geography
Joseph Knight photo of Joseph Knight Land Use and Land Cover Change, Wetlands and Peatlands jknight@umn.edu 612-625-5354 Assistant Professor
Randall Kolka photo of Randall Kolka Natural Ecosystems rkolka@fs.fed.us 218-326-7115 Adjunct Assistant Professor
Julian Marshall Photo of Julian Marshall Air pollution impacts on urban form, air pollution and health impacts of transportation and energy consumption, in situ measurement of fine particles in developing countries julian@umn.edu 612-625-2397 Assistant Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering
Katsumi Matsumoto Photo of Katsumi Matsumoto Oceanography, geochemistry, carbon cycle, climate change katsumi@umn.edu 612-624-0275 Associate Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor, Dept. of Geology and Geophysics
Peter H. McMurry Photo of Peter McMurry Atmospheric aersols, novel materials formed from deposited nanoparticles produced in thermal plasma reactors mcmurry@me.umn.edu 612-624-2817 Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Dylan Millet Picture of Dylan Millet Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate and Climate Change dbm@umn.edu 612-626-3259 Professor, Co-director of Graduate Studies
David Mulla Picture of David Mulla Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Ecosystem Modeling, Precision Agriculture mulla003@umn.edu 612-625-6721 Professor & Endowed Chair in Soil and Water Resources, Professor, Co-Director of Graduate Studies
Ed Nater Ed Nater Biogeochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Pedology enater@umn.edu 612-625-9734 Professor
Paulo Pagliari photo of Paulo Pagliari Crops, Nutrient Management pagli005@umn.edu 507-752-5065 Assistant Professor
Jennifer S. Powers Photo of Jennifer Powers Terrestrial biogeochemistry, Microbial ecology powers@umn.edu 612-625-5721 Assistant Professor, Dept. of Ecology, Evolution and Behaviour
Pamela Rice photo of Pamela Rice Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Environmental Chemistry pamrice@umn.edu 612-624-9210 Adjunct Assistant Professor
Carl Rosen Photo of Carl Rosen Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Crops, Environmental Chemistry crosen@umn.edu 612-625-8114 Professor, Department Head; Soil, Water, & Climate
Michael P. Russelle Nutrient management, manure application options on alfalfa Michael.Russelle@ars.usda.gov 612-625-8145

Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Soil, Water, & Climate

USDA/ARS Plant Science Research Unit

Michael Sadowsky Michael Sadowsky Aquatic Microbiology, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Environmental Microbiology sadowsky@umn.edu 612-624-2706 Professor
Michael Schmitt Michael Schmitt mschmitt@umn.edu 612-625-7098 Professor, CFANS Senior Associate Dean for Extension
Mark Seeley Mark Seeley mseeley@umn.edu 612-625-4724 Professor
Albert Sims photo of Albert Sims Crops, Nutrient Management simsx008@umn.edu 218-281-8602 Associate Professor
Peter Snyder photo of Peter Snyder Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Climate and Climate Change, Ecosystem Modeling pksnyder@umn.edu 612-625-8209 Associate Professor
Kurt Spokas photo of Kurt Spokas Biogeochemistry, Contaminant Hydrology and Water Quality, Soil Physics kurt.spokas@ars.usda.gov 612-626-2834 Adjunct Assistant Professor
Jeff Strock Jeff Strock Nutrient Management jstrock@umn.edu 507-752-5064 Professor
Brandy Toner photo of Brandy Toner Biogeochemistry, Environmental Chemistry toner@umn.edu 612-624-1362 Associate Professor
Tracy Twine Picture of Tracy Twine Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Climate and Climate Change, Ecosystem Modeling twine@umn.edu 612-625-7278 Associate Professor
Rodney Venterea photo of Rodney Venterea Atmosphere-Biosphere Interactions, Biogeochemistry, Soil Physics venterea@umn.edu 612-624-7842 Adjunct Assistant Professor, USDA-ARS
Ce Yang photo of Ce Yang ceyang@umn.edu 612-626-6419 Assistant Professor
Kyungsoo Yoo Kyungsoo Yoo Biogeochemistry, Natural Ecosystems, Pedology kyoo@umn.edu 612-624-7784 Associate Professor