University of Minnesota
College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
http://www.cfans.umn.edu
Go to the U of M home page

Graduate Program in Land and Atmospheric Science

People

Graduate Faculty

Deborah L. Allan
Professor
Soil, Water, and Climate
S429 Soils Science Building
Phone: 612-625-3158
Email: dallan@umn.edu;


John M. Baker
Adjunct Professor
Research Leader USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit
Soil, Water, and Climate
168 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-4249
Email: jbaker@umn.edu

Website: www.biometeorology.umn.edu/
www.ars.usda.gov/pandp/people/people.htm?personid=247


Karen G. Ballen
Lecturer
Soil, Water, and Climate
439 Borlaug Hall
Phone: +1 612-625-8268
Email : balle008@umn.edu


James (Jay) C. Bell
Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Faculty Affairs
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
190 Coffey Hall
Phone: 612-625-6703
Email: bellx007@umn.edu


Adam S. Birr
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Soil, Water, and Climate
Email: abirr@umn.edu


Paul R. Bloom
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
460 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-4711
Email: prb@umn.edu


Fabián Fernández
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
233 Soil Science Building 
Phone: 612-625-7460
Email: fabiangf@umn.edu


Gary Feyereisen
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit
168 Borlaug Hall
Email: gfeyer@umn.edu


Timothy Griffis
Professor
co-Director of Graduate Studies for LAAS
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S331 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-3117
Email: tgriffis@umn.edu

Website: www.biometeorology.umn.edu


Julie M. Grossman
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Sciences
413A Alderman Hall
Phone: +1 612-625-8597
Email: jgross@umn.edu

Website: http://grossmanlab.cfans.umn.edu


Satish C. Gupta
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
148 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-1241
Email: gupta002@umn.edu


Jessica Gutknecht
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S431 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-626-8435
Email: jgut@umn.edu

Website: jessgutknecht.wordpress.com


Thomas R. Halbach
Extension Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S225 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-3135
Email: thalbach@umn.edu


Jane M. Fischer Johnson
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
Email: johns165@umn.edu


Daniel Kaiser
Assistant Professor and Extension Soil Scientist
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S235 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-624-3482
Email: dekaiser@umn.edu


Katherine Klink
Associate Professor
Department of Geography, University of Minnesota
573 Social Science
Phone: 612-625-3452
Email: klink@umn.edu


Joe Knight
Assistant Professor
Department of Forest Resources
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
301E Green Hall
Phone: 612-625-5354
Email: jknight@umn.edu

Website: http://www.forestry.umn.edu/People/Knight/index.htm
Geospatial Science Group
Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Lab


Randy Kolka
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station
Grand Rapids, MN
Phone: 218-326-7115
Email: rkolka@fs.fed.us

Website: http:www.nrs.fs.fed.us/people/Kolka


William C. Koskinen
Adjunct Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit
S425 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-4276
Email: koskinen@umn.edu

Website: www.ars.usda.gov/pandp/people/people.htm?personid=3106


John A. Lamb
Professor and Extension Soil Scientist
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S229 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-1772
Email: johnlamb@umn.edu


Julian Marshall
Assistant Professor and McKnight Land-Grand Professor
Department of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota
162 Civil Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2397
Email: julian@umn.edu


Katsumi Matsumoto
Associate Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor
Department of Geology and Geophysics, University of Minnesota
212A Pillsbury Hall
Email: katsumi@umn.edu


Peter H. McMurry
Professor
Mechanical Engineering, University of Minnesota
Phone: 612-624-2817
Email: mcmurry@me.umn.edu


Dylan B. Millet
Associate Professor and McKnight Land-Grant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S328 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-626-3259
Email: dbm@umn.edu

Website: www.atmoschem.umn.edu


David J. Mulla
Professor
W.E. Larson Chair
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
564 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-6721
Email: mulla003@umn.edu


Edward A. Nater
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
439 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-9734
Email: enater@umn.edu


Paulo Pagliari
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
439 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 507-752-5065
Email: pagli005@umn.edu


Jennifer S. Powers
Assistant Professor
Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behaviour
306 Ecology Building
Phone: 612-625-5721
Email: powers@umn.edu

Website: http://tropicaldryforest.wordpress.com/


Pamela Rice
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit
452 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-624-9210
Email: pamrice@umn.edu

Website: www.ars.usda.gov/pandp/people/people.htm?personid=4686


Carl J. Rosen
Department Head
Professor and Extension Soil Scientist
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
Department of Horticultural Science
S233 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-8114
Email: crosen@umn.edu


Michael P. Russelle
Adjunct Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA/ARS  Plant Science Research Unit
S435 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-8145
Email: Michael.Russelle@ars.usda.gov


Michael J. Sadowsky
Director, The Biotechnology Institute
Professor and Distinguished McKnight Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
258 Borlaug Hall
Email: sadowsky@umn.edu


Michael A. Schmitt
CFANS Senior Associate Dean for Extension
Professor
240 Coffey Hall
Phone: 612-626-4021
Email: mschmitt@umn.edu


Mark W. Seeley
Professor/Extension Climatologist
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
S335 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-625-4724
Email: mseeley@umn.edu

Website: www.climate.umn.edu


Albert L. Sims
Associate Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
Northwest Research and Outreach Center, Crookston, MN
Phone: 218-281-8619
Email: simsx008@umn.edu 


Peter K. Snyder
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
556 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-8209
Email: pksnyder@umn.edu

Website: www.tc.umn.edu/~pksnyder 


Kurt A. Spokas
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit
S531 Soil Science Building
Phone: 612-626-2834
Email: kspokas@umn.edu 


Jeffrey S. Strock
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
SW Research and Outreach Center, Lamberton, MN
Phone: 507-752-7372
Email: stroc001@umn.edu


Brandy M. Toner
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
450 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-624-1362
Email: toner@umn.edu

Website: www.tc.umn.edu/~toner


Tracy E. Twine
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
568 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-625-7278
Email: twine@umn.edu

Website: www.tc.umn.edu/~twine


Rodney T. Venterea
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
USDA-ARS Soil and Water Management Unir
152 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-624-7842
Email: venterea@umn.edu

Website: www.ars.usda.gov/pandp/people/people.htm?personid=31831


Kyungsoo Yoo
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
570 Borlaug Hall
Phone: 612-624-7784
Email: kyoo@umn.edu

Faculty in the News!

MPR: The "Islands in the Sun" project is the brain child of Peter Snyder and Tracy Twine at the University of Minnesota's Soil, Water and Climate Department.

LAAS Twine/Snyder 2

Grad faculty by
interdisciplinary area


atmophere p

Atmosphere


crop p

Crops & Natural Vegetation


soil p

Soil


Water

Water